login :
Subscribing   Pass lost ?   

Browse List: # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Browse by Genre  
Band's list Rock'n'Roll The Kinks Kinda Kinks
Album, Released date : 15 March 1965 - Reprise Records / Sanctuary Records / Pye Record
Style: Rock'n'Roll

Add the album's lyrics
RATING : 15/20
You must be logged to rate this album
1. Look for Me Baby
2. Got My Feet on the Ground
3. Nothing in the World Can Stop Me from Worrin' 'Bout That Girl
4. Naggin' Woman
5. Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
6. Tired of Waiting for You
7. Dancing in the Street
8. Don't Ever Change
9. Come on Now
10. So Long
11. You Shouldn't Be Sad
12. Something Better Beginning
13. I Need You
14. See My Friends
15. Never Met a Girl Like You Before
16. I Go to Sleep

modify this album  print this article
6 members owning this album Next album
add a review Previous album
5 ratings 2 15/20
14 / 20
    ThatMetalDude, Monday 28 December 2015 Talk to your friends  
Not there yet, but a prelude to future greatness.

'Kinda Kinks' is somewhat of a crossover album for the band. When The Kinks' debut was released, it was very raw and very heavy for its time. It was the kind of album that parents would not want their kids listening to. 'Kinda Kinks' changes that up a bit by having some softer, more poppy type songs mixed in as well. Some good examples of this are "Don't Ever Change" and "Nothing in the World Can Stop Me from Worryin' 'Bout That Girl". Fans of The Kinks' heavier material will find songs to appreciate on here as well though, particularly "Come on Now" and "I Need You" (which sounds almost exactly like "You Really Got Me").

Personally, I thought 'Kinda Kinks' was pretty good. I don't like it quite as much as some of their later albums, but I found it to be more enjoyable than their debut. I think it's strange that I am a huge fan of hard rock and heavy metal music, yet when it comes to The Kinks, I prefer their softer stuff instead. That is a mystery I don't think I'll ever be able to figure out.

From what I've read about the band, apparently they didn't like this album much when it was released. Ray Davies said he felt that it was rushed and not as good as it could have been. Even so, this was still a very popular album for the band and the song "Tired of Waiting for You" became a huge hit for them.

Fun Facts: "Dancing in the Street" was originally recorded by Martha and the Vandellas. Also, The Pretenders covered "I Go to Sleep" in 1981.

Favorite Songs: "Wonder Where My Baby is Tonight", "Tired of Waiting for You", "Dancing in the Street", "Don't Ever Change", "I Need You", "See My Friends", "I Go to Sleep"


0 Comment
Spirit of Rock Webzine © 2003-2017 ‘Are you ready for rock?’ Contact - Links
Follow us :